Recy Taylor

Recy Taylor
Recy Taylor
Courtesy of The People's World/Daily Worker and Tamiment Library/Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, New York University

Recy Taylor aus Abbeville, Alabama, war 24 Jahre alt, als sie am 3. September 1944 auf dem Heimweg von der Kirche von sechs bewaffneten, weißen Männern entführt und brutal vergewaltigt wurde. Sie war verheiratet und Mutter einer dreijährigen Tochter. In der Folgezeit wurde auf Recys Haus ein Brandanschlag verübt. Sie erhielt mehrere Morddrohungen und und sah sich unzähligen Einschüchterungsversuchen gegen sie und ihre Familie ausgesetzt. Dennoch zeigte sie das Verbrechen an und kämpfte für Gerechtigkeit für das, was ihr widerfahren war. Es überrascht nicht, dass es keinen Prozess gab.

Rosa Parks, eine Aktivistin der N.A.A.C.P. in Montgomery, Alabama, half bei den Ermittlungen. Sie organisierte das "Committee of Equal Justice for Mrs. Recy Taylor" (Komitee für gleiche Gerechtigkeit für Mrs. Recy Taylor), um den Gouverneur von Alabama zu bitten, eine Untersuchung einzuleiten. Der Fall wurde von einer ausschließlich weißen, ausschließlich männlichen Grand Jury nicht nur einmal, sondern zweimal abgewiesen. Am 14. Februar 1945 weigerte sich die zweite Grand Jury, die Vergewaltiger anzuklagen, obwohl einer von ihnen die Tat gestanden hatte.

Im Jahr 2011 veröffentlichte die Historikerin Danielle L. McGuire ihr Buch At the Dark End of the Street: Black Women, Rape, and Resistance - A New History of the Civil Rights Movement from Rosa Parks to the Rise of Black Power. Das Buch veranlasste die Alabama Legislative, sich offiziell bei Recy zu entschuldigen und eine Resolution zu verabschieden, in der sie das Versagen des Staates zugab, ihre Angreifer strafrechtlich zu verfolgen. Recy verstarb am 29. Dezember 2017. Ein Film, der ihr Leben und die Vergewaltigung dokumentiert, wurde 2018 unter dem Titel #SheSpokeUp veröffentlicht.

Recy Taylor

Recy Taylor
Recy Taylor
Courtesy of The People's World/Daily Worker and Tamiment Library/Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, New York University

Recy Taylor, from Abbeville, Alabama, was 24 years old when six armed, white men abducted and brutally raped her, as she was walking home from church on September 3, 1944. She was married and the mother of a three-year-old daughter. In the aftermath, Recy’s home was firebombed. She received multiple death threats, and relentless intimidation targeted towards her and her family. Nevertheless, she reported the crime and fought for justice for what had happened to her. Not surprisingly, there was no trial.

Rosa Parks, an activist with the N.A.A.C.P. in Montgomery, Alabama, went to assist with the investigation. She organized the Committee of Equal Justice for Mrs. Recy Taylor to petition the Alabama Governor to move forward with an investigation. The case was dismissed, by an all-white, all-male grand jury, not once, but twice. On February 14, 1945, the second of these grand juries refused to indict her rapists, even though one had actually confessed to the crime. I repeat, her rapist literally confessed.

In 2011, prompted by the publication of historian Danielle L. McGuire's book At the Dark End of the Street: Black Women, Rape, and Resistance—A New History of the Civil Rights Movement from Rosa Parks to the Rise of Black Power, the Alabama Legislature issued a formal apology to Recy and passed a resolution admitting to the state’s failure to prosecute her attackers. Recy Taylor passed away on December 29, 2017. A film documenting her life and the rape was released in 2018 titled, The Rape of Recy Taylor.