In 1935, Paul and Jean Hanna commissioned Frank Lloyd Wright to design their home to be built on the Stanford University campus. Construction, begun in 1937, continued in four stages over 25 years. The house was the first structure in the world to use Frank Lloyd Wright's hexagonal grid system, which has subsequently been used widely in American architecture. The Hannas lived in the house until giving it to Stanford in 1975. It housed four university provosts until suffering severe damage in the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake. It underwent complex restoration, made complicated by its unique design, and reopened to the public in 1999.
The items featured in this exhibit consist of correspondence, blueprints, drawings, photographs, and other records relating to the planning, design and construction of the campus home of Professor and Mrs. Paul R. Hanna. The collection focuses on the Hanna's work with architect Frank Lloyd Wright extending from the initial planning of the house through later renovations.
Includes 1200+ blueprints, diazo prints, photostats, and pencil on paper sketches.
750+ photographs documenting the original site on Coutts Farm; Hanna's building lot; construction; exteriors and interiors; and inspecting failure of original copper roof. Also included are photographs documenting damage caused by the 1989 Loma Prieta Earthquake.
Includes 92 volumes of materials documenting design, construction and publicity.
Correspondence of Paul R. Hanna.
Audio and video recordings documenting events and restoration projects.