Browse Groups

Browse groups is an optional feature that can be useful when your exhibit has a large number of browse categories that would be easier for an exhibit visitor to discover if they were grouped. For example, an exhibit with many items related to an artist's work may benefit from grouping multiple browse categories by time period, by artistic medium, and by theme. Another example might be an exhibit for a Stanford community group containing a large number of items of different resource types, such as photographs, videos, and publications; by creating a browse group for each of those resource types, the exhibit curator can then assign finer-grained browse categories to each browse group and enable exhibit visitors to more easily explore the types of resources in which they are most interested.

One or more browse categories can be assigned to each browse group, and the same browse category can be added to more than one browse group. You do not have to assign every browse category to a group.

If your exhibit is published and includes at least one browse group that is checked to be displayed, the exhibit’s browse landing page will include at the top a row of filter buttons. The default filter “All” is displayed first, followed by a filter for each of the checked browse groups. The “All” filter includes every published browse category in your exhibit, whether or not the category has been assigned to a browse group. Each browse group’s filter button will restrict the display of browse categories to only those that have been assigned to that group.

Creating a browse group

To create a browse group, select Browse from the Curation menu and then select the Browse groups tab. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select the button that says Add new group. Enter a title for the browse group and select Save. There are several options available for browse groups:

  • Change the name of a group by selecting the text of the name and typing in the new name.
  • The View link enables you to see the browse group page as an exhibit visitor would, even if the browse group has not been published.
  • Checking the box to the left of the group name means the group will be displayed when the exhibit is published. Uncheck the box to keep the group from being displayed in a published exhibit. You might want to keep a group unchecked, for example, until you have added browse categories to it, as described below.
  • You can reorder browse groups by dragging and dropping them into the order in which you would like the filter buttons for the groups to appear on the browse landing page.
  • If you decide you no longer need a browse group, the Delete group link removes it from the exhibit. This action does not affect browse categories that might have been assigned to the group.

Assigning browse categories to browse groups

You must edit each browse category individually in order to assign it to one or more browse groups. To assign a browse category to a browse group, select Browse from the Curation menu and then select the Browse categories tab. Select Edit to edit a browse category, and then select the Group tab. To assign the browse category to one or more browse groups, select the appropriate checkboxes.

You can assign an unpublished browse category to a browse group but the category must be published before it is visible to exhibit visitors when they view the filtered browse group page.