Data and More from Stanford's Cutting Edge Researchers
This collection includes research outputs from Stanford-associated researchers on the wide variety of topics and fields under investigation at Stanford University, including statistics, engineering, biology, chemistry, social sciences, humanities, medicine, physics, geosciences, and the environment.
The Stanford Photograph Collection contains over 16,000 images of Stanford scenes including photographs of and relating to the Stanford family, views of the campus and individual buildings, photographs of students and student life activities, and photographs of faculty and administrative staff. The majority of photographs are black and white gelatin prints but nineteenth-century albumen prints mounted on boards are also represented. The collection spans the late 1890s through the 1990s.
A Summer School of Science
With the financial support of Timothy Hopkins, the Hopkins Seaside Laboratory was established in 1892 on a treeless plateau in Pacific Grove, California. For the next twenty-five years, the seaside laboratory offered summer instruction to visiting students from the Pacific slope and laboratory space to visiting scientists from around the globe. This exhibit tells the history of those twenty-five years.
A collaborative effort by Stanford and Cambridge to convert analog ice sheet observations for digital analysis
This project is a collaboration between Stanford University and the Scott Polar Research Institute (SPRI) at Cambridge University in the UK to digitize the nearly 1,000 rolls of optical film gathered in the late 1960s and 1970s as part of an Antarctic airborne geophysical survey.
This exhibit commemorates the 150th anniversary of the completion of the Transcontinental Railroad. It highlights materials from the Stanford Libraries including pictures from the Alfred A. Hart photographs, maps from the David Rumsey Map Center, and materials from Special Collections.
Connecting the past, present and future of the automobile through the Road & Track collection
This exhibit showcases Stanford University materials related to the history and future of the automobile, currently drawn from the Road and Track Archive, held at Stanford University Libraries.
Oral Histories of Semiconductor Technology
Welcome to Silicon Genesis, a unique collection of oral history interviews with pioneers of the semiconductor industry. You will find streamed video recordings of these interviews, along with transcripts, here.
SLAC Director and Professor Emeritus
Highlights from the Wolfgang Kurt Hermann Panofsky Papers, 1932-2008 at the Archives, History and Records Office of SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory.
At the Stanford Libraries
The Douglas Menuez Photography Collection contains a sample of images from the complete archive of award-winning documentary photographer Douglas Menuez. The archive includes Menuez's editorial photojournalism and fine art documentary work as well his commercial projects. Included in the archive are more than 250,000 photographs documenting the rise of Silicon Valley.
Architectural drawings, maps, prints, and aerial photographs of the Stanford University campus and associated land holdings
This exhibit showcases the growth of campus using illustrative materials from several University Archives collections, including the Maps Collection, the Architectural Drawings Collection, the Hanna House Collection, the Prints Collection, the Birge M. Clark Architectural Drawings, Peninsua-Times Tribune Photographs, Hatfield Aerial Survey Photographs, and the Stanford Historical Photograph Collection.
Records of the Trustees pertaining to legal issues, financial affairs, investments, academic departments, student housing, gifts received, real estate, campus development, and other administrative concerns. Also included are records pertaining to the Leland Stanford Junior Kindergarten Trust and its major beneficiary, the Golden Gate Kindergarten Association, 1884-1979.
Agendas, minutes and supporting materials created by the Stanford Faculty Senate.
Hopkins Marine Station occupies an exposed rocky headland named China Point, as the site was once the location of the Point Alones Chinese fishing village. The University holds title to approximately eleven acres on and around the point which includes roughly one mile of shoreline. he chapters presented here outline a portion of the history of Stanford's seaside laboratory.
Combined holdings of Muybridge material held in Special Collections and University Archives.
Work in artificial intelligence and computer science at Stanford University
The Edward A. Feigenbaum Papers collection primarily concerns his work in artificial intelligence at Stanford University and includes administrative files, correspondence, project files, trip files, proposals, reports, reprints, Artificial Intelligence Lab memos, audio tapes, video tapes, and files on computer programs, including EPAM, DENDRAL, MOLGEN, MYCIN, and others.
This exhibit showcases 125 years of Stanford Stories, illustrated using materials from the Stanford University Archives.
Exhibit featuring faculty papers, administrative records, publications, photographs, and audio and video recordings documenting the history of computer science at Stanford.
The Forma Urbis Romae, or Severan Marble Plan of Rome is an enormous map, measuring ca. 18.10 x 13 meters (ca. 60 x 43 feet), that was carved between 203-211 CE and covered an entire wall inside the Templum Pacis in Rome. It depicted the ground plan of every architectural feature in the ancient city, from large public monuments to small shops, rooms, and even staircases.
Stanford's library collections document the history of artificial intelligence captured on film, video and audio.
Oral history collections and interviews documenting the Stanford community and associated projects.
Architect, Systems Theorist, Designer, and Inventor
The R. Buckminster Fuller Collection contains over 1,400 linear feet of personal and professional papers, manuscripts, drawings, blueprints, audio and video recordings, and models. Over 700 media elements have been reformatted and more than 5,000 slides as well as the clippings index and Bucky's schedule of lectures, projects, and days. All of these are available for research use in the department's reading room.
The Joint Committee on Atomic Energy was established by the Atomic Energy Act of 1946 and existed from 1946 to 1977. It was created to "make continuing studies of the activities of the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) and of problems relating to the development, use, and control of atomic energy."